Table of contents for History of political philosophy / edited by Leo Strauss and Joseph Cropsey.

Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog

Information from electronic data provided by the publisher. May be incomplete or contain other coding.

Preface to the Third Edition
Preface to the Second Edition
Preface to the First Edition
Thucydides by David Bolotin
Plato by Leo Strauss
Xenophon by Christopher Bruell
Aristotle by Carnes Lord
Marcus Tullius Cicero by James E. Holton
St. Augustine by Ernest L. Fortin
Alfarabi by Muhsin Mahdi
Moses Maimonides by Ralph Lerner
St. Thomas Aquinas by Ernest L. Fortin
Marsilius of Padua by Leo Strauss
Niccolo Machiavelli by Leo Strauss
Martin Luther and John Calvin by Duncan B. Forrester
Richard Hooker by Duncan B. Forrester
Francis Bacon by Howard B. White
Hugo Grotius by Richard H. Cox
Thomas Hobbes by Laurence Berns
Rene Descartes by Richard Kennington
John Milton by Walter Berns
Benedict Spinoza by Stanley Rosen
John Locke by Robert A. Goldwin
Montesquieu David Lowenthal
David Hume by Robert S. Hill
Jean-Jacques Rousseau by Allan Bloom
Immanuel Kant by Pierre Hassner
William Blackstone by Herbert J. Storing
Adam Smith by Joseph Cropsey
The Federalist by Martin Diamond
Thomas Paine by Francis Canavan, S.J.
Edmund Burke by Harvey Mansfield, Jr.
Jeremy Bentham and James Mill by Timothy Fuller
Georg W.F. Hegel by by Pierre Hassner translated by Allan Bloom
Alexis de Tocqueville by Marvin Zetterbaum
John Stuart Mill by Henry M. Magid
Karl Marx by Joseph Cropsey
Friedrich Nietzsche by Werner J. Dannhauser
John Dewey by Robert Horwitz
Edmund Husserl by Richard Velkley
Martin Heidegger by Michael Gillespie
Epilogue: Leo Strauss and the History of Political Philosophy by Nathan Tarcov and Thomas L. Pangle

Library of Congress subject headings for this publication: Political science History