Table of contents for I am just going outside : Captain Oates--Antarctic tragedy / Michael Smith.

Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog. Note: Electronic data is machine generated. May be incomplete or contain other coding.




1. Deep roots
2. Mother's boy
3. A place in the country
4. Lord of the Manor
5. A call to arms
6. A blast of war
7. No surrender
8. The bells of St Mary's
9. A piece of flotsam
10. The great escape
11. Terra Incognita
12. A fatal mistake
13. A race for the Pole
14. A load of crocks
15. Footprints in the snow
16. The seeds of destruction
17. Friends and enemies
18. '... there is no cause for anxiety ...
19. To the last place on earth
20. Wrong man, wrong place
21. The abyss of defeat
22. 'God help us ... '
23. The ultimate sacrifice
24. A very gallant gentleman
25. Bitter memories
26. A second tragedy


  I am just        Chapter notes                                                             271
going outside      Bibliography       Books                                                  283
                                      Archive sources and abbreviations                      286
                                      Newspapers, magazines, periodicals                     287
                                      Articles                                               288
                                      Unpublished diaries, documents, interviews, letters    290
                                      Films                                                  294
                   Index                                                                     295


Library of Congress Subject Headings for this publication: Oates, Lawrence Edward Grace, 1880-1912, Explorers Great Britain Biography, Soldiers Great Britain Biography, Antarctica Discovery and exploration British