Table of contents for Handbook of risk and crisis communication / Robert L. Heath and H. Dan O'Hair, editors.

Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog.

Note: Contents data are machine generated based on pre-publication provided by the publisher. Contents may have variations from the printed book or be incomplete or contain other coding.


Counter
Handbook of Risk and Crisis Communication
Robert L. Heath and H. Dan O¿Hair
Editors 
Section One: Exploring the Reach of Crisis and Risk Communication
Chapter 1: The Significance of Risk and Crisis Communication Robert L. Heath & Dan O¿Hair (rheath@uh.edu)
Chapter 2: Historical Trends in Risk and Crisis Communication Michael J. Palenchar (mpalench@utk.edu) 
Chapter 3: Cultural Theory and Risk James Tansey (james.tansey@gmail.com) and (Steve Rayner (steve.rayner@said-business-school.oxford.ac.uk)
Chapter 4: Risk Communication: Insights and Requirements for Designing Successful Communication Programs on Health and Environmental Hazards Ortwin Renn (ortwin.renn@soz.uni-stuttgart.de) 
Chapter 5: Conceptualizing Crisis Communication W. Timothy Coombs (wtcoombs@hotmail.com) 
Chapter 6: The Precautionary Principle and Risk Communication, Steve McGuire, (steve.maguire@mcgill.ca) and Jaye Ellis (jaye.ellis@mcgill.ca) 
Section Two: Key Constructs in Risk and Crisis Communication
Chapter 7: Strategies for Overcoming Challenges to Risk Communication Vincent Covello (Vcovello@CenterForRiskCommunication.org) 
Chapter 8: Risk Communication Education for Local Emergency Manager: Using the CAUSE Model for Research, Education, and Outreach Kathy Rowen (Krowan@gmu.edu), Carl Botan, Gary Kreps, Sergi Samoilenko, and Karen Farnsworth. 
Chapter 9: Risk and Social Dramaturgy Ingar Palmlund (ipalmund@aol.com)
Chapter 10: Myths and Maxims of Risk and Crisis Communication, Peter A. Anderson (peterand@mail.sdsu.edu) and Brian H. Spitzberg
Chapter 11: The Ecological Perspective and Other Ways to (Re)Consider Cultural Factors in Risk Communication Linda Aldoory laldoory@wam.umd.edu
Chapter 12: Science Literary and Risk Analysis: Relationship to the Postmodernist Critique, Conservative Christian Activists, and professional Obfuscators Mike Ryan (mryan@uh.edu)
Chapter 13: Influence Theories: Rhetorical, Persuasion, and Informational Jeff Springston (jspring@uga.edu), Elizabeth Johnson Avery, and Lynne M. Sallot 
Chapter 14: Raising the Alarm and Calming Fears: Perceived Threat and Efficacy During Risk and Crisis Anthony J. Roberto (roberto.14@osu.edu), Catherine E. Goodall, Kim Witte (wittek@msu.edu)
Chapter 15: Crisis Response Communication, Image Restoration, and Apologia Rob Ulmer (rrulmer@ualr.edu), Matt Seeger et al. (matthew.seeger@wayne.edu) )
Chapter 16: Risk Communication by Organizations: The Back Story Caron Chess (chess_c@aesop.rutgers.edu) and Branden Johnson
Chapter 17: Ethical Responsibility and Guidelines for Management Issues of Risk and Risk Management Shannon Bowen (sabowen@umd.edu) 
Chapter 18: Linking Public Participation and Decision Making through Risk Communication Katherine McComas Kam19@cornell.edu Joseph Arvai, and John C. Besley
Chapter 19: Warming Warnings: Global Challenges of Risk and Crisis Communication David McKie dmckie@waikato.ac.nz Christopher Galloway 
Chapter 20: Risk, Crisis, and Mediated Communication Kurt Neurwirth (kurt.neurwirth@uc.edu)
Chapter 21: Crises and Risk in Cyberspace Kirk Hallahan (hallahan@lamar.colostate.edu) 
Chapter 22: Virtual Risk: The Role of New Media in Violent and Nonviolent Ideological Groups Matthew T. Allen, Amanda D. Angie, Josh L. Davis, Cristina L. Byrne, H. Dan O¿Hair, Shane Connelly, & Michael D. Mumford
Chapter 23: Community Building through Communication Infrastructures Robert L. Heath, (rheath@uh.edu) Michael Palenchar, and Dan O¿Hair
Section Three: Contexts of Crisis and Risk Communication
Chapter 24: Crisis and Emergency Risk Communication in Health Contexts: Applying the CDC Model to Pandemic Influenza Matthew W. Seeger (matthew.seeger@wayne.edu), Barbara Reynolds, and Timothy L. Sellnow
Chapter 25: How People Think about Cancer: A Mental Approach Julie S. Downs (downs@cmu.edu), Wandi Bruine de Bruin, Baruch Fischhoff, Bradford Hesse, and Ed Maibach
 
Chapter 26: Killing and Other Campus Violence: Restorative Enrichment of Risk and Crisis Communication, Cindi Atkinson, Courtney Vaughn (vaughn-1@ou.edu), and Jami VanCamp (hdohair@ou.edu)
Chapter 27: Denial, Differentiation & Apology: On the Use of Apologia in Crisis Management Keith Hearit (keith.hearit@wmich) and Kasie Mitchell Robeson
Chapter 28: Risk Communication and Biotechnology: A Discourse Perspective Shirley Leitch (sleitch@uow.edu.au) and Judy Motion jmotion@uow.edu.au
Chapter 29: Precautionary Principle and Biotechnology: Regulators Are from Mars and Activists Are from Venus Stephanie Proutheau and Robert L. Heath (rlheath@uh.edu)
Chapter 30: Environmental Quality Tarla Peterson tarlarai@neo.tamu.edu and Jessica Leigh Thompson
Chapter 31: Knowing Terror: On the Epistemology and Rhetoric of Risk, Kevin J. Ayotte, (kjayotte@csufresno.edu), H. Dan O¿Hair, and Daniel Rex Bernard
Chapter 32: Magnifying Risk and Crisis: The Influence of Communication Technology on Contemporary Global Terrorism. Michael D. Bruce, Kristin Shamas, and Dan O¿Hair, (hdohair@ou.edu)
Chapter 33: Opportunity Knocks: Putting Communication Research into the Travel and Tourism Risk and Crisis Literature, Lynne M. Sallot, (sallot@uga.edu) Jeffrey K. Springston, and Elizabeth Johnson Avery 

Library of Congress Subject Headings for this publication:

Risk management -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Crisis management -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Emergency management -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Communication in management -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.