Table of contents for Drug-induced liver disease / edited by Neil Kaplowitz, Laurie D. DeLeve.

Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog.

Note: Contents data are machine generated based on pre-publication provided by the publisher. Contents may have variations from the printed book or be incomplete or contain other coding.


Counter
1
*Neil Kaplowitz
Drug-induced liver disorders
Neil Kaplowitz, M.D. 
University of Southern California, Keck School of Medicine 
GI/Liver Division 
2011 Zonal Ave., HMR 101 
Los Angeles, CA 90033 
phone 323/ 442-5576, fax 323/ 442-3243 
kaplowit@usc.edu
2
**Fred Guengerich
P450-activation of toxins and hepatotoxicity
Fred Peter Guengerich, Ph.D. 
Prof. of Biochem. & Director, Ctr. In Molecular Toxicol. 
Vanderbilt Univ. School of Med. 
638 Robinson Research Building 
23rd & Pierce Avenues 
Nashville, Tennessee 37232-0146 
phone 615/322-2261, fax 615/ 322-3141 
f.guengerich@vanderbilt.edu
3
*Hartmut Jaeschke
Oxidative Stress, antioxidant defense and liver injury
Hartmut Jaeschke 
Univ Arizona Col Med 
Liver Res Inst 
1501 N Campbell Ave, Rm 6309 
Tucson, AZ 85724 
520 626-1449 
jaeschke@email.arizona.edu
4
*Dominique Pessayre
Hepatotoxicity due to mitochondrial injury
Dominique Pessayre 
INSERIM U481 
Faculte de Medecine Xavier Bichat 
16 rue Henri Huchard, 75018 Paris, France 
tel 33 1 44 85 61 93, fax 33 1 44 85 92 79 
Dominique.Pessayre@bichat.inserum.fr
5
*Neil Kaplowitz
Mechanisms of cell death and relevance to drug hepatotoxicity
Neil Kaplowitz, M.D. 
University of Southern California, Keck School of Medicine 
GI/Liver Division 
2011 Zonal Ave., HMR 101 
Los Angeles, CA 90033 
phone 323/ 442-5576, fax 323/ 442-3243 
kaplowit@usc.edu
6
**Peter J. Meier
Role of membrane transport in hepatotoxicity and pathogenesis of 
drug-induced cholestasis
Peter J. Meier-Abt, M.D. 
University Hospital 
Div. Clin. Pharmacol., Dept. of Med. 
Ramistr 100 
Zurich CH-8091 
Switzerland 
phone: 41 1 2553652; fax: 41 1 2554411 
meierabt@access.unizh.ch
7
**Dwain Thiele
Immunological mechanisms in drug-induced liver injury
Dwain Thiele, M.D. 
Univ Texas Southwestern Med Ctr 
Dept Int Med 
5323 Harry Hines Blvd 
Dallas, TX 75390-9151 
phone 214/ 648-3444; fax 214/ 648-0274 
dwain.thiele@utsouthwestern.edu
8
*Les T. Benet
Mechanistic role of acyl glucuronides
Leslie Benet, Ph.D.Univ Cal-San Francisco Sch PharmDept 
Biopharmaceut Sci533 Parnassus Ave, Rm U-68San 
Francisco, CA 94143-0446phone: 415/ 476-3853; fax: 415/ 
476-8887benet@itsa.ucsf.edu
9
*Debra L. Laskin
Nonparenchymal cells, inflammatory macrophages and hepatotoxicity
Debra Laskin, Ph.D. 
Rutgers Univ 
Dept Pharmacol and Toxicol 
170 Frelinghuysen Rd 
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8020 
phone: 732/ 445-5862; fax 732/ 445-2534 
laskin@eohsi.rutgers.edu
10
**Harihara Mehendale
Role of tissue repair in liver injury
Harihara M. Mehendale, Ph.D. 
Univ Louisiana at Monroe 
Dept Toxicol 
700 University Ave, Sugar Hall, 306A 
Monroe, LA 71209-0495 
318/ 342-1691; fax 318/ 342-1686 
mehendale@ulm.edu
11
***Paul Watkins
Genetic factors in pathogenesis
Paul B. Watkins, M.D. 
Univ North Carolina 
Campus Box 7600, Rm 3005, APCF Bldg 
Chapel Hill, NC 27599 
919 966-1435 
pbwatkins@med.unc.edu
12
*Willis C. Maddrey
Clinico-pathological patterns of drug and toxin-induced liver disease
Willis C. Maddrey, M.D.Univ Texas Southwestern Med CtrDept 
Clin Affairs5323 Harry Hines BlvdDallas, TX 75390-8570phone: 
214/ 648-2024; fax: 214/ 648-
8086wcmaddrey@utsouthwestern.edu
13
*Gary C. Kanel
Histopathology of drug-induced liver disease
Gary C. Kanel, M.D. 
Professor of Clinical Pathology 
USC Keck School of Medicine 
1200 N. State Street, GNH 2900 
Telephone: (323) 226-7132 
FAX: (323) 226-7487 
gckanel@aol.com 
14
**Laurie DeLeve
Risk factors for drug-induced liver disease
Laurie D. DeLeve, M.D., Ph.D. 
Associate Professor 
USC Keck School of Medicine 
Dept. of Med., GI/Liver Division 
2011 Zonal Avenue, HMR 101Los Angeles, CA 90033 
Telephone: (323) 442-3248 
FAX: (323) 442-3238 
deleve@usc.edu
15
**Andrew Stolz
The promise of genomics, proteomics and metabolomics: diagnosis 
and clues to mechanism
Andrew A. Stolz, M.D. 
Associate Professor 
USC Keck School of Medicine 
Dept. of Med., GI/Liver Division 
2011 Zonal Avenue, HMR 101 
Los Angeles, CA 90033 
323 442-2699; fax: 323/ 442-5425 
astolz@usc.edu
16
**Ma Isabel Lucena
Causality assessment
Ma Isabel LucenaDept. de Farmacologia ClinicaFacultad de 
Medicina29071 Malaga, Spainphone: 34 952 131572; fax: 34 
952 131568lucena@uma.es
17
**Thomas D. Boyer
Management of Drug-Induced Liver Disease
Thomas Boyer 
Univ Arizona 
Liver Res Inst 
1501 N Campbell Ave, AHSC 245136 
Tucson, AZ 85724 
520 626-5952 
tboyer@ahsc.arizona.edu
18
*Sidney D. Nelson
Mechanisms of acetaminophen-induced liver disease
Sidney Nelson 
Univ Washington Sch Pharm 
Box 357631 
Seattle, WA 98195-7631 
206 543-1419 
sidnels@u.washington.edu
19
*William M. Lee
Acetaminophen-Pathology and clinical presentation of hepatotoxicity
William M. Lee 
UT SW at Dallas 
5323 Harry Hines Blvd. 
Dallas, Texas 75390-9151 
william.lee@utsouthwestern.edu
20
*Urs Boelsterli
Mechanisms underlying the hepatotoxicity of non-steroidal anti-
inflammatory drugs
Urs BoelsterliDepartment of PharmacyFaculty of 
ScienceNational University of SingaporeScience Drive 4, 
Singaporephcbua@nus.edu.sgTel: (65)6874 1291
21
*James H. Lewis
Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs- Pathology and clinical 
presentation of hepatotoxicity
James H. Lewis 
Second Floor, Main Hospital 
Georgetown University Medical Center 
Washington, DC 20007 
(202) 444-1671 
lewisjh@gunet.georgetown.edu
22
*J. Gerald Kenna
Mechanisms, pathology and clinical presentation of hepatotoxicity of 
anesthetic agents
Gerald Kenna, Ph.D. 
AstraZeneca R&D Alderley Park 
Safety Assessment UK, Mereside, Alderley Park 
Macclesfield, Chesire, SK10 4TG England 
Tel. 44 (0) 1625 515868 
Fax 44 (0) 1625 513779 
gerry.kenna@astrazeneca.com
23
*Munir Pirmohamed (taking 
over for Sephen Leeder)
Anticonvulsant agents
Prof. Munir Pirmohamed, Ph.D.,FRCP, FRCP(E) 
Prof. of Clin. Pharmacol./Consultant Physian 
Dept. of Pharmacol & Therapeutics 
The University of Liverpool 
Ashton Street Liverpool 
L69 3GE 
phone: 44 151 794-5549; fax: 44 151 794-5540 
munirp@liv.ac.uk
24
**Dominique Larrey
Psychotropic drugs and drugs of abuse
Dominique Larrey Service d?H¿pato-Gastroent¿rologie et 
Transplantation, H¿pital Saint EloiAnd INSERM Unit 63280 rue 
Augustin Fliche34295 MONTPELLIER Cedex 5Francephone: 
00 33 4 67 33 70 61; fax: 00 33 4 67 33 02 57dom-larrey@chu-
montpellier.fr
25
**Richard Moseley
Antimicrobials and antifungal agents
Richard Moseley 
VA Med Ctr 
Dept Int Med, Univ Michigan Med Sch 
2215 Fuller Rd (111) 
Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2300 
734 761-7986 
rmoseley@umich.edu
26
**Neil Kaplowitz
Antituberculosis agents
Neil Kaplowitz, M.D. 
University of Southern California, Keck School of Medicine 
GI/Liver Division 
2011 Zonal Ave., HMR 101 
Los Angeles, CA 90033 
phone 323/ 442-5576, fax 323/ 442-3243 
kaplowit@usc.edu
27
**Ulrich Spengler
Antiviral agents
Ulrich Spengler 
University of Bonn 
Department of Internal Medicine 
Sigmund Freud Str. 25 
Bonn D53127 
GERMANY 
49228287 
Ulrich.Spengler@ukb.uni-bonn.de
28
**Naga Chalasani
Hepatotoxicity of cardiovascular and antidiabetic drugs
Naga P. Chalasani, M.D.Indiana University School of 
Medicine550 N. University Blvd.Room 4100Indianapolis, IN 
46202phone: 317/ 630-7119; fax: 317/ 630-
6815nchalasa@iupui.edu
29
*Laurie DeLeve
Cancer chemotherapy
Laurie D. DeLeve, M.D., Ph.D. 
Associate Professor 
USC Keck School of Medicine 
Dept. of Med., GI/Liver Division 
2011 Zonal Avenue, HMR 101 
Los Angeles, CA 90033 
Telephone: (323) 442-3248 
FAX: (323) 442-3238 
deleve@usc.edu
30
**Tim Davern
Immunomodulating agents and the transplant situation
Tim Davern 
Adjunct Assistant Professor 
UCSF 
Div. of Gastroenterology 
513 Parnasses Avenue 
Room S-357 
San Francisco, CA 94143 
4155020610 
tdavern@itsa.ucsf.edu
31
*Adrian Reuben
Methotrexate controversies
Adrian Reuben 
Director of Liver Studies 
USC 
210 Clinical Science Building 
Division of GI/Hepatology 
96 Jonathan Lucas Street 
P.O. Box 250327 
Charleston, SC 29425 
8437926901 
reubena@musc.edu
32
**Geoff Farrell - (replaced 
Steven Schenker)
Hormones and hormone antagonists
Prof. Geoff C. FarrellRobert W. Storr Prof. of Hepatic 
MedicineDirector, Storr Liver UnitDeputy Director, Westmead 
millennium InstituteStorr Liver UnitWestmead Millennium 
InstituteDarcy RoadP.O. Box 412Westmead NSW 2145 
AustraliaTel: (612) 9845 9006Fax: (612) 9845 9100e-mail: 
gfarrell@u.washington.edu
33
**Dominique Valla
Mushroom poisoning, a clinical model of toxin-induced centrilobular 
necrosis
Dominique Valla 
Hospital Beajon 
Service d?Hepatologie 
100 Boulevard du General Leclerc 
Clichy 92118 
FRANCE 
33140875594 
Dominique.valla@bjn.ap-hop-paris.fr
34
**Thomas Schiano
Herbal medicines, vitamins and natural hepatotoxins
Thomas D. Schiano 
Associate Professor of Medicine 
Mount Sinai Medical Center 
Division of Liver Diseases 
One Gustave L. Levy Place 
Box 1104 
New York, NY 10029-6500 
Thomas.schiano@msnyuhealth.org
35
*Keith Tolman
Occupational and Enviromental Hepatotoxicity
Keith Tolman 
University of Utah 
School of Medicine 
Division of Gastroenterology 
30 N 1000 E Room 4R118 
Salt Lake City, UT 84132 
Keith.tolman@usc.utah.edu
36
*John R. Senior
Regulatory perspectives
John SeniorFDA, HFD-030Ofc Pharmacoepidemiol and Stat 
Sci5600 Fishers Ln, Parklawn 15B-45HRockville, MD 
20857301 827-3206seniorj@cder.fda.gov

Library of Congress Subject Headings for this publication:

Hepatotoxicology.
Liver -- Effect of drugs on.
Drugs -- Side effects.
Liver Diseases -- chemically induced.
Liver -- drug effects.
Pharmaceutical Preparations -- adverse effects.