Table of contents for The real story : a guide to nonfiction reading interests / by Sarah Statz Cords ; edited By Robert Burgin.

Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog.

Note: Contents data are machine generated based on pre-publication provided by the publisher. Contents may have variations from the printed book or be incomplete or contain other coding.


Counter
 Table of Contents (Detailed)
Foreword (by Robert Burgin)
Introduction
NONFICTION GENRES
True Adventure
Definition, Appeal, Organization
	THE SUBGENRES:
	Survival and Disaster Stories
	Sports Adventures 
	Cons and Card Games 
	War Stories
	Intrigue and Espionage 
	Historical and Exploration Adventure 
Consider Starting With...
Fiction Read-alikes: Further Reading; References List
Travel
	Definition, Appeal, Organization.
		THE SUBGENRES:
		Armchair Travel
 Foreign Places and Exotic Locales 
 Adventures 
		Journey Narratives
		The Expatriate Life
		Travel Humor
		Literary Travel
	Consider Starting With...
	Fiction Read-alikes; Further Reading; References List
True Crime
	Definition, Appeal, Organization
		THE SUBGENRES:
		Committing Crimes
			True Horror: Violent Crimes and Criminals 
			Murder Where You Live: Family and Lover Crimes 
			Wise Guys: Mafia Crime
			Murder's Not the Only Crime 
Horrific Historical Crimes
Street and Prison Life
		Investigating Crimes
Police Procedurals
 Unsolved Mysteries
 Courtroom Dramas
	Consider Starting With...
	Fiction Read-alikes; Further Reading; References List
Environmental Writing
Definition, Appeal, Organization
		THE SUBGENRES:
		Natural Places
		Reflective Environmental Stories
		Back to the Land
		Political 
		Animal Stories
	Consider Starting With...
	Fiction Read-alikes; Further Readings; References List	
NONFICTION SUBJECT INTERESTS
Science and Math 
Definition, Appeal, Organization
		THE SUBGENRES:
		Deep Science (Story and subject matter)
		Investigative Science
			Investigating the Applied Sciences
			Provocative Science 
		Adventures in Science
		Micro-science
		History of Science 
			History of Medicine
		Scientists and Science Enthusiasts
		Literary Science 
	Consider Starting With...
	Fiction Read-alikes; Further Readings; References List
History
	Definition, Appeal, Organization
		THE SUBGENRES:
		Defining Times
		History's Darkest Hours
			Human Cruelties 
			Natural Disasters and Disease Epidemics 
		The Settings of History 
		Micro-histories
			Ideas of History
		New Perspectives
			Secret Histories
		Immersion History 
		Epic History 
		Historical Biography: Caught in History's Web 
			Individual Stories
			Group Stories
	Consider Starting With...
	Fiction Read-alikes; Further Readings; References List
LIFE STORIES
Biography
	Definition, Appeal, Organization
		THE SUBGENRES:
American Presidents and Other Political Leaders
		Problem Solvers and Experimenters: Science Biography
The Creative Life: Artists, Entertainers, and Writers
Sports Biographies
Outstanding In Their Fields: Professional Biographies
		Change-makers and Activists
		Historical Biography 
		Better Together: "Buddy" and Group Bios
		Guilty Pleasures: Celebrities and Superstars
 Consider Starting With...
 Fiction Read-alikes; Further Readings; References List
Memoirs and Autobiography
 Definition, Appeal, Organization
 MEMOIRS
		THE SUBGENRES:
		Coming of Age 
			Self Discovery: Explorations in Identity
		Overcoming Adversity
		The Immigrant Experience 
			Multicultural Experiences
Working Life Memoirs 
			Foodie Memoirs
		Humorous Memoir 
	AUTOBIOGRAPHY
	Fiction Read-alikes; Further Readings; References List
Relationships
Definition, Appeal, Organization
		THE SUBGENRES:
		All in the Family
			Challenging Family Stories 
			Gentle Family Reads
		All You Need is Love 
		With a Little Help from My Friends
		Community Life 
	Consider Starting With...
	Fiction Read-alikes; Further Reading
STYLISTIC GENRES
Investigative Writing
	Definition, Appeal, Organization
		THE SUBGENRES:
		In-depth Reporting
		Immersion Journalism
		Exposes
		Character Profiles: The People Are the Story
		Political Reporting
		Business Reporting
	Consider Starting With...		
	Fiction Read-alikes; Further Readings; References List
Making Sense...
Definition, Appeal, Organization
		THE SUBGENRES:
		Of Ourselves and Each Other
		Of Our Culture and Society
		Of Our Surroundings
		Of Our Histories
	Consider Starting With...
 Fiction Read-alikes; References List
Appendixes
	Nonfiction Book Awards
	Internet Resources
	Political Pundits Overview
	Spirituality Writers Overview
Index 
 

Library of Congress Subject Headings for this publication:

Readers' advisory services -- United States.
Public libraries -- Reference services -- United States.
Books and reading -- United States.
Reading interests -- United States.