Table of contents for Bach's cycle, Mozart's arrow : an essay on the origins of musical modernity / Karol Berger.

Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog.

Note: Contents data are machine generated based on pre-publication provided by the publisher. Contents may have variations from the printed book or be incomplete or contain other coding.

List of Illustrations 00
Preface 00
Prelude: L'Orfeo, or the anxiety of the moderns 00
Part I: Bach's Cycle
Chapter 1: The arrested procession 00
Chapter 2: A crystal flying like a bullet 00
Chapter 3: There is no time like God's time 00
Interlude: Jean-Jacques contra Augustinum: a little treatise on moral-political theology 
1. Augustine 00
2. The birth of autonomy 00
3. Rousseau 00
4. The Christian and modern outlooks compared 00
5. The emancipation of time 00
6. From cosmos to history 00
Part II: Mozart's Arrow
Chapter 4: Mozart at play 00
Chapter 5: The hidden center 00
Chapter 6: Between incoherence and inauthenticity: Don Giovanni and Faust 00
Chapter 7: Die Zauberfløte, or the self-assertion of the moderns 00
Postlude: Between utopia and melancholy: Beethoven and the aesthetic state 00
Works cited 00
Index 00

Library of Congress Subject Headings for this publication:

Music -- 18th century -- History and criticsm.
Bach, Johann Sebastian, 1685-1750 -- Criticism and interpretation.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791 -- Criticism and interpretation.