Table of contents for Sonic alchemy : visionary music producers and their maverick recordings / by David N. Howard.

Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog. Note: Contents data are machine generated based on pre-publication information provided by the publisher. Contents may have variations from the printed book or be incomplete or contain other coding.

I. Acknowledgements
II. Introduction
1. Chapter One: The Pioneers: Phil Spector and George Martin
2. Chapter Two: The California Sunshine Sound: Brian Wilson, Gary 
Usher, Terry Melcher and Curt Boettcher
3. Chapter Three: The Mavericks: David Axelrod and Shel Talmy
4. Chapter Four: The Chemistry Behind the Board: Jimmy Miller and 
Glyn Johns
5. Chapter Five: Sky's the Limit / R&B Goes Funky: Willie Mitchell 
and Norman Whitfield
6. Chapter Six: The Minimalists: John Cale and Brian Eno
7. Chapter Seven: The Third World's Revenge: King Tubby, Lee 
"Scratch" Perry and the Rise of Dub
8. Chapter Eight: The Quiet Chameleon: Chris Thomas
9. Chapter Nine: The Order of Disorder: Martin Hannett, Flood and 
Steve Albini
10. Chapter Ten: The Beat Scientists: Arthur Baker, the Bomb Squad, 
Dr. Dre

Library of Congress Subject Headings for this publication: Sound recording executives and producers Biography