Table of contents for Eleanor Rathbone and the politics of conscience / Susan Pedersen.

Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog. Note: Contents data are machine generated based on pre-publication information provided by the publisher. Contents may have variations from the printed book or be incomplete or contain other coding.

Table of Contents
Introduction: Lives Seen and Unseen 
I. Dilemmas of a Dutiful Daughter
1. Snares of wealth and virtue
2. Mothers and Mentors
3. Philosophy and Friendship
4. Her Father's Daughter
Coda: Emily Alone
II. The freedom of the city
5. Enter Miss Macadam
6. Must mothers be poor?
7. Claiming citizenship
8. Time of Trial
Coda: Elsie makes her will
III. A New Feminism in the Making
9. Choosing Elizabeth
10. What future for feminism?
11. Feuds about the family
12. Most Independent Member
13. The difference empire makes
Coda: Miss Rathbone has her portrait painted
IV. A World to Save
14. Prophet without honour
15. A War worth fighting
16. "Rescue the Perishing"
17. Miss Rathbone in victory
Coda: The Lady Vanishes
1. Principal writings by Eleanor Rathbone
2. Municipal election results, Granby Ward, Liverpool
3. Parliamentary election results, Combined English Universities
4. Eleanor Rathbone's parliamentary speeches and questions
5. A Note on Sources

Library of Congress Subject Headings for this publication: Rathbone, Eleanor F, (Eleanor Florence), 1872-1946, Women in politics Great Britain History 20th century, Great Britain Politics and government 20th century, Legislators Great Britain Biography, Suffragists Great Britain Biography, Feminists Great Britain Biography