Contributor biographical information for Mathematical aspects of classical and celestial mechanics / Vladimir I. Arnold, Valery V. Kozlov, Anatoly I. Neishtadt.

Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog

Biographical text provided by the publisher (may be incomplete or contain other coding). The Library of Congress makes no claims as to the accuracy of the information provided, and will not maintain or otherwise edit/update the information supplied by the publisher.

d104>V.I.Arnold Famous author of various Springer books in the field of dynamical systems, differential equations, hydrodynamics, magnetohydrodynamics, classical and celestial mechanics, geometry, topology, algebraic geometry, symplectic geometry, singularity theory 1958 Award of the Mathematical Society of Moscow1965 Lenin Award of the Government of the U.S.S.R.1976 Honorary Member, London Mathematical Society1979 Honorary Doctor, University P. and M. Curie, Paris1982 Carfoord Award of the Swedish Academy1983 Foreign Member, National Academy, U.S.A.1984 Foreign Member, Academy of Sciences, Paris1987 Foreign Member, Academy of Arts and Sciences, U.S.A.1988 Honorary Doctor, Warwick University, Coventry1988 Foreign Member, Royal Soc. London, GB1988 Foreign Member, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome, Italy1990 Member, Academy of Sciences, Russia1990 Foreign Member, American Philosophical Society1991 Honorary Doctor, Utrecht1991 Honorary Doctor, Bologna1991 Member, Academy of Natural Sciences, Russia1991 Member, Academia Europaea1992 N.V. Lobachevsky Prize of Russian Academy of Sciences1994 Harvey Prize Technion Award1994 Honorary Doctor, University of Madrid, Complutense1997 Honorary Doctor, University of Toronto, Canada2001 Wolf Prize of Wolf Foundation V.V.Kozlov Famous Springer author working in the field of general principles of dynamics, integrability of equations of motion, variational methods in mechanics, rigid body dynamics, stability theory, non-holonomic mechanics, impact theory, symmetries and integral invariants, mathematical aspects of statistical mechanics, ergodic theory and mathematical physics. 1973 Lenin Komsomol Prize (the major prize for young scientists in USSR)1986 M.V. Lomonosov 1st Degree Prize (the major prize awarded by M.V. Lomonosov Moscow State University)1988 S. A. Chaplygin Prize of Russian Academy of Sciences1994 State Prize of the Russian Federation1995 Member, Russian Academy of Natural Sciences2000 S.V. Kovalevskaya Prize of Russian Academy of Sciences2000 Member, Academy of Sciences, Russia2003 Foreign member of the Serbian Science Society A.I.Neishtadt Neishtadt is also Springer Author, working in the field of perturbation theory (in particular averaging of perturbations, adiabatic invariants), bifurcation theory, celestial mechanics 2001 A.M.Lyapunov Prize of Russian Academy of Sciences (joint with D.V.Anosov))

Library of Congress subject headings for this publication:
Mechanics, Analytic.
Celestial mechanics.