Publisher description for The chief glory of every people; essays on classic American writers. Edited by Matthew J. Bruccoli.

Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog

Information from electronic data provided by the publisher. May be incomplete or contain other coding.

The twelve original essays, written for this volume, appraise our classic Amer­ican writers and in so doing give fresh insight into the state of American litera­ture today. The writers discussed are: James Fenimore Cooper, Stephen Crane, John Dewey, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nathaniel Hawthorne, William Dean Howells, Washington Irving, Herman Melville, William Gilmore Simms, Henry Thoreau, Mark Twain, and Walt Whit­man.

Library of Congress subject headings for this publication:
American literature -- 19th century -- History and criticism.