Contributor biographical information for The Concord quartet : Alcott, Emerson, Hawthorne, Thoreau, and the friendship that freed the American mind / Samuel A. Schreiner, Jr.

Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog

Biographical text provided by the publisher (may be incomplete or contain other coding). The Library of Congress makes no claims as to the accuracy of the information provided, and will not maintain or otherwise edit/update the information supplied by the publisher.

Samuel A. Schreiner Jr., a veteran journalist and former senior editor at Reader's Digest, is the author of both novels and nonfiction, including The Trials of Mrs. Lincoln, Henry Clay Frick: The Gospel of Greed, and The Passionate Beechers: A Family Saga of Sanctity and Scandal That Changed America. He lives in Darien, Connecticut.

Library of Congress subject headings for this publication:
Authors, American -- 19th century -- Biography.
Authors, American -- Homes and haunts -- Massachusetts -- Concord.
Transcendentalists (New England) -- Biography.
Literary landmarks -- Massachusetts -- Concord.
Concord (Mass.) -- Intellectual life -- 19th century.
Alcott, Amos Bronson, -- 1799-1888 -- Friends and associates.
Emerson, Ralph Waldo, -- 1803-1882 -- Friends and associates.
Hawthorne, Nathaniel, -- 1804-1864 -- Friends and associates.
Thoreau, Henry David, -- 1817-1862 -- Friends and associates.