Contributor biographical information for Pride and prejudice / Jane Austen ; edited wih an introduction and notes by Vivien Jones ; with the original Penguin Classics introduction by Tony Tanner.

Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog

Biographical text provided by the publisher (may be incomplete or contain other coding). The Library of Congress makes no claims as to the accuracy of the information provided, and will not maintain or otherwise edit/update the information supplied by the publisher.

Jane Austen (1775-1817) lived in and wrote about Regency England. She completed six novels, four of which were published during her lifetime.

Vivien Jones is a senior lecturer in English at the University of Leeds.

Library of Congress subject headings for this publication:
Social classes -- Fiction.
Young women -- Fiction.
Prejudices -- Fiction.
Courtship -- Fiction.
Sisters -- Fiction.
England -- Fiction.