Table of contents for American Bloomsbury : Louisa May Alcott, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Margaret Fuller, Nathaniel Hawthorne, and Henry David Thoreau : their lives, their loves, their work / Susan Cheever.

Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog

Information from electronic data provided by the publisher. May be incomplete or contain other coding.



A Note to the Reader


Part One

1 Concord, Massachusetts

2 The Alcotts Arrive for the First Time

3 Louisa, Girl Interrupted

4 Louisa in Love...Henry David Thoreau

5 Sic Vita

6 Two Loves

7 Ellen Sewall

8 Money

9 Emerson Pays for Everything

10 Two Deaths

11 The Curse of Salem

12 Hawthorne Emerges

13 The Execution

14 Another Triangle

Part Two

15 Bronson Alcott, Peddler Turned Pedant

16 Fruitlands

17 Sex

18 Thoreau Goes to New York City

19 Wall of Fire

20 Walden Pond

21 Margaret Fuller, the Sexy Muse

22 Rome

23 The Margaret Ghost

24 Hawthorne Leaves Salem Forever

25 Stockbridge

26 Melville

27 The Railroad

28 Community

29 Without Margaret

Part Three

30 Louisa May Alcott Returns

31 Louisa in Boston

32 Concord Again

33 Walden, Walden

34 Thoreau Now

35 Leaving Walden

36 The Birth and Death of Margaret Fuller

37 Shipwreck

38 The Hawthornes' Return to Concord

39 President Frank

40 Bayonets and Bullets

41 Local Martyr

Part Four

42 The Death of Thoreau

43 Louisa in Washington, D.C.

44 Return and Illness

45 Hawthorne Leaves Concord

46 Death

47 Little Women

48 Emerson and the Fire

Concord, Today






Library of Congress subject headings for this publication:
Authors, American -- Homes and haunts -- Massachusetts -- Concord.
American literature -- Massachusetts -- Concord -- History and criticism.
Authors, American -- 19th century -- Biography.
Concord (Mass.) -- Intellectual life -- 19th century.
Concord (Mass.) -- Biography.