Table of contents for Anna Halprin : experience as dance / Janice Ross ; foreword by Richard Schechner.

Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog

Information from electronic data provided by the publisher. May be incomplete or contain other coding.

Foreword by Richard Schechner

1. Why She Danced (1920-1938)
2. The Secret Garden of American Dance (1938-1942)
3. The Bauhaus and the Settlement House (1941-1945)
4. Western Spaces (1945-1955)
5. Instantaneous Experience and Beat Culture (1955-1960)
6. Urban Rituals (1961-1966)
7. Spectatorship and Embodiment (1967-1968)
8. Ceremony of Memory (1968-1971)
9. Illness as Performance (1972-1990)
10. Flesh Made Metaphor: Dances of Aging (1991-2005)

Chronology of Works, Videos, and Films by Anna Halprin

Library of Congress subject headings for this publication:
Halprin, Anna.
Dancers -- United States -- Biography.
Modern dance.