Publisher description for Ghosting : a memoir / Jennie Erdal.


Bibliographic record and links to related information available from the Library of Congress catalog


Information from electronic data provided by the publisher. May be incomplete or contain other coding.


Counter In the early eighties, Jennie Erdal was hired by a flamboyant British publisher she calls Tiger to be his specialist editor for Russian books. By degrees he co-opted her time and loyalty, to the point where she ended up becoming his ghostwriter for a huge nonfiction book on women and two glossy novels and hundreds of newspaper columns, all published under his own name. (Also his love letters.) With superb intelligence and quiet comedy, Erdal relates how she became seduced into this peculiar job. On the way she makes fascinating excursions into her own private history, from vivid evocations of her Scottish Presbyterian childhood to moving observations on being an abandoned wife and lone parent, to piercing insights into the very nature of literary creation.

One of the smartest books about writing in years, GHOSTING is a tour de force in which the author renders both Tiger and herself as compelling characters, connected to each other by a strange symbiosis. Their interaction is bizarre and also quite spooky; in the end this is a book about the nature of identity. For fans of Jennifer Egan, Kazuo Ishiguro, and Kate Christensen, or anyone interested in the story behind how stories are written and published, GHOSTING will be that rare gem: a book that tells us just as much about why authors write as it does about the author's life.



Library of Congress subject headings for this publication: Ghostwriting, Authorship Collaboration, Ghostwriters Great Britain Biography, Publishers and publishing Great Britain, Erdal, Jennie